?

Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Minister of Antiquities Mamdouh Eldamaty told Ahram Online that the GEM houses now 203 wooden beams of King Khufu’s second boat, which was removed from its pit on the southern side of the Great Pyramid.

He explained that the beams were inside the pit since it was first discovered in 1954 by Egyptian archaeologists Kamal Al-Mallakh and Zaki Nour during routine cleaning on the southern side of Khufu’s Great Pyramid.

Al-Mallakh then removed the timbers, oars and beams of the first solar boat and left the second one in situ until 2009 when a Japanese scientific and archaeological team from Waseda University headed by Sakuji Yoshimura offered to remove the boat from the pit, restore and reassemble it, and put it on show to the public...

Thirty wooden beams of Khufu's second solar boat arrive to the GEM - Ancient Egypt - Heritage - Ahram Online

Latest Month

July 2017
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Naoto Kishi